A Liebster Award

Liebster award logo

The only award I ever won was first place at my school’s Halloween costume contest. I went as the Statue of Liberty.

I’m going to come clean. Part of my day job entails me to write about awards. I’ve written a lot of these stories – so many, in fact, that I can’t help but feel that many awards are utterly meaningless. I know that’s perhaps a little mean-spirited, because the award winners are often inspiring, but it’s a feeling that can’t be helped. When I hear that I have to write another story about an award winner, my heart sinks a little. (It actually sinks a lot.)

With that now out in the open, this humble blog has been nominated for a Liebster Award by White Trinity, a blogger from Singapore who mainly writes about restaurants and food and takes much better photographs than I can.

The Liebster Awards are meant to recognize blogs with a small number of followers (under 300). The aim is, of course, to widen out that readership. It’s a very noble aim and the award is given to bloggers from bloggers.

There are rules accompanying this award. The one I have a problem with is nominating 10 more blogs for the award. I fully know there are 10 relatively unknown blogs worth nominating, blogs which are well written, funny, witty and useful. But you know what, I have no idea what they are. I simply don’t have the time to keep up to date with the zillions of worthwhile blogs out there.

I could pretend, of course, and talk knowledgeably about blogs I’ve barely ever visited. I could go around and just randomly nominate 10 blogs I have heard of, but this hardly seems the point. I’d be nothing better than a hypocrite.

So instead I will talk about the blogs I have actually read and which I think are worth a mention here – they each deserve a Liebster Award:

  • I am a reader. Always have been. I tend to read fiction books. This is an excellent blog for anyone who loves books and reading. I’ve subscribed to it for a year. It gets updated regularly and the girl who writes this is clearly a lover of words. I don’t know how she finds the time to read everything she does: http://alittleblogofbooks.wordpress.com/
  • I am inspired by Helen Fawkes, a journalist who has written a blog about her incurable cancer. She is truly remarkable: http://helenfawkes.wordpress.com/
  • I like Lady Goo Goo Gaga’s refreshing take on motherhood, because we’re not all perfect domestic goddesses who like to fix our husbands martinis when they get home: http://lgoogoogaga.wordpress.com/
  • If you thought parenting was challenging, try raising five kids with disabilities, staying sane and keeping a sense of humor. This blogger has managed it and somehow finds the time to read my blog occasionally. Thank you: http://5kidswdisabilities.com/about/
  • A very funny take on one stay-at-home dad’s journey, and he likes to drink. We have more than one thing in common: http://daddy-drinks.com/
  • Finally, this blog is from another expat living in England and writing about her experiences: http://motherslittlesteps.com/about/

Another rule accompanying the award is to answer 10 questions. Because I don’t want to bore you with my answers I’ll just choose one: Why do I blog?

I blog because I have always liked to write. Sometimes the entries almost write themselves, sometimes they can feel like homework. There are times I have thought about giving this up, because I think about the blog more often than I feel I should. I often wonder if anyone actually ever reads it, because I don’t read the other blogs I subscribe to as much as I’d like and then I feel guilty about that. Mostly, I write this for myself. It’s a diary, a moment captured in words, and I hope one day I can show it to my children and say, ‘This is who I was. I wasn’t a perfect mother or a perfect wife, and I had bad days when I  had to drink a bottle of wine, but I always loved you.’

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “A Liebster Award

  1. Oh this is a pleasant surprise! Thanks for adding me on your list … I do feel honoured, especially since it is coming from a blogger I truly enjoy reading. All the best, D.

Leave a Reply

